Founding Members

FB_IMG_1470098573683In 1974, the US Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) opened Brookville Lake, and a small group of very dedicated people established the Brookville Lake Sailing Association (BLSA) (see Founding Members listing, below). In 1982, the first phase of the Hanna Creek Sailing Marina was opened, with the 5-ton power hoist becoming operational at this facility in 1983.

The USACE continues to manage the lake in its primary function as a flood control reservoir for the Ohio River system, while the Indiana Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) oversees the surrounding park and marina facilities. BLSA works with both organizations to ensure the continued development of shore and water facilities to be used for sailing. In 2004, BLSA began gathering information to document the water depth in the Hanna Creek cove. The silting problem is becoming critical in this area and this data will assist the government entities in preparing a mitigation plan. Besides working with these agencies, BLSA’s purpose is to promote and encourage the sport of sailboat handling, water safety, seamanship, competitive sailing, and on-and-off water social activities.

BLSA members hail from the surrounding area in Indiana, Southwestern Ohio, and Northern Kentucky. Membership in BLSA is open to anyone interested in the fun and fellowship of sailing. BLSA offers a complete schedule of year-round activities for our members. These events begin with the spring “Ice-Breaker” dinner, continue with many social activities, the racing program, and sailing seminars, then conclude with the Winter Awards Banquet.

Races are held on many weekends during the season. Both cruiser/keel-boat and dinghy/day-sailor classes are accommodated in the racing program. In 2004, BLSA expanded the racing program to include two fleets. In 2005, this format was modified to allow the growing fleet of J/24s to race in a one-design format with the other racers competing under the Portsmouth handicap system. The “P” fleet competes throughout the season for the club championship, the “Ed Griffith” Cup, and the J/24s challenge for a trophy honoring the late Jim Duffy. The BLSA racing program continues to evolve. In recent seasons we have been running a single fleet.

The club made a major step forward in 2006, with the purchase of a covered pontoon boat, powered by an outboard engine. The boat is the official ‘BLSA Activities Boat’, and is used both as a Committee Boat to enhance the racing program. Since the boat’s acquisition, the BLSA racing program, in particular, has experienced major improvements. Used as Committee Boat during races, the Activities Boat has been a huge help in setting course markers, establishing fair starts, monitoring finishing positions and times, and providing an additional safety margin. This has made the BLSA race program far more professional and more fun. As club members become more familiar with the benefits and potential of the Activities Boat, more and more social events will be developed to take advantage, and to add additional fun to BLSA social functions.

Thanks to specific member contributions and annual dues, the club was able to purchase an equipment trailer in 2009. The trailer is used primarily for storage of all social event equipment and supplies. The addition of this trailer to the clubs assets has been a tremendous help in setting up and running our various social functions.

Social events are tied to the racing schedule to include as many members as possible. Most events are free to BLSA members, although some involve bringing a covered dish or paying a small fee. A complete schedule is posted on the Hanna Creek bulletin board and on the Social page of this site.

Previous Commodores:


Frank Kennedy


Betsy Hall


Dave Fox


Frank Kennedy


Carey Parks


Dave Fox


Fred Gibbs


Terry Reuland


Chris Hughes


Jim Beamer


Terry Reuland


Denis Mullally


Jim Beamer


Bob Unkel


Barry Brierley


Fred Gibbs


Bill Kneifel


Barry Brierley


Tom Vanover


Bill Kneifel


Randy Jones


Bob Hartlaub / Bob Unkel


Tom Saygers


Randy Jones


Bob Unkel


Fred Kinkel


Mike Burd


Al Heister


Fred Kinkel


Bill Beglin


Tom Lincoln


Dave Masters


Bill Beglin


Don Kidwell


Dave Masters


Pat Meyers


Dave Masters


Darwin Hall


Dave Masters


Steve Bravell


Bob Newport

BLSA Founding Members:

Leon & Johanna Barber

Charles (Tony) & Lee Hayden

Bill & Helen Pace

David & Marge Barrett

Chuck & Liz Heisel

James & Jennifer  Peelle

Jim Beamer

Albert & Myma Heister

Paul & Polly Price

Charles & Laura Bottonto

Paul & Heidi Hemker

John & Barbara Reichle

Phillip Brownell

Paul & Thelma Hine

Richard & Barbara Salzer

George & Carol Brustle

Howard & Sandy Hommel

Thomas & Carol Schaber

Dudley & Evelyn Burton

Donald Hottmna

John & Mary Schramm

Robert Cline

Earl & Mary Humbach

Harold & Vema Seim

Dorothy Crouch

Frank & Annie Kennedy

James & Jean Showkeir

Earl & Monica Fischer

Jim & Ruth Kuertz

Paul & Delores Silade

Tom & Ann Francis

Robert & Joyce LeCompte

James & Barbara Sims

Paul & Sally Francisco

Robert & Rubye Lines

John & Virginia Sinclair

Peter & Anita Gabor

Jack & Jane Lockhart

Kent & Pat Wahl

Jane Gahl

Donald & Ethel MacDaniel

Jack & Roberta Warndorf

Paul & Bette Gamm

George & Jeannette Marousek

William & Louise Werking

Robert & Mae Gerrs

Charles & Ann McCullough

Donald & Linda Whitlark

Fred & Judy Gibbs

Roger Miller

Claire & Lucille Widdows

Jim & Cheri Gillespie

Fred & Mary Mitchell

William & Elsia Wilfert

Chet Gray

Donald & Laura Murphy

Dennis & Rosemary Wisnosky

Philip & Donna Greene

Thomas Murphy

James & Mary Wordl

Dale & Sandy Hall

Charlie Nelms

Lyle & Kathy Yoest

Robert & Carol Harm

Ladd & Barbara Orr

Emest & Jane Zimmerman

BLSA Constitution:

     This is included as a reference for BLSA members and intersted parties.  Download a copy of the BLSA constitution here.